When I posted Thursday night about local school boards who have passed a resolution to repeal the accountability act, I was unaware that Opp city schools joined the parade at their Feb. 21 meeting.  That makes 17 systems in all who have taken a public stance that they are fighting for their students, teachers and schools.

They have the courage and conviction to speak out against the diversion of $145 million from the Education Trust Fund.

They understand this effort is not just about repealing this terrible legislation, it is also about educators coming together across this state and speaking with one VOICE.  Something we’ve been reluctant to do in recent years.

Each of these superintendents is due a word of thanks for leading the way.  Here is the email address for each of them.  Please take a moment and drop them a short note of appreciation.  (And if your own superintendent is not on this list, let them know that you are watching and wondering why they have not stepped up.)

Baldwin County:  Eddie Tyler     etyler@bcbe.org

Bibb County:  Duane McGee     mcgeed@bibb.org

Butler County:  John Strycker     john.strycker@butlerco.k12.al.us

Geneva County:  Becky Birdsong     birdsongb@genevacoboe.org

Henry County:  Chris Padget     cpadget@henrycountyboe.org

Houston County:  David Sewell     dsewell@hcboe.us

Jefferson County:  Craig Pouncey     cpouncey@jefcoed.com

Marion County:  Ann West     awest@mcbe.net

Mobile County:  Chresal Threadgill     cthreadgill@mcpss.com

Montgomery County:  Ann Roy Moore     ann.moore@mps.k12.al.us

Randolph County:  John Jacobs     jjacobs@randolphboe.org

Tallapoosa County:  Joe Windle     jwindle@tallapoosak12.org

Andalusia City:  Ted Watson     watsont@andalusia.k12.al.us

Leeds City:  John Moore     jmoore@leedsk12.org

Opp City:  Michael Smithart     msmithart@oppboe.com

Russellville City:  Hearth Grimes     heath.grimes@rcs.k12.al.us

Winfield City:  Chris Cook     ccook@winfield.k12.al.us

Everyone likes a pat on the back.  You can support this effort by emailing these good folks.