As discussed here many times, on March 3 voters will vote YES or NO on going from an elected state school board to one appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate.  A YES vote will mean you lose your right to vote, a NO vote means you will keep it.  Legislation calling for this constitutional amendment was passed in our last regular session last spring.

Republican Del Marsh is senate majority leader.  Since his party holds a supermajority in this body, he has considerable influence.  This is reflected by the fact that the vote in the senate was 30-0.   All but two of the 27 Republican members voted to take away your right to vote  (Jimmy Holley and Tom Whatley did not vote.).  And five of the eight Democrats in the senate voted with Marsh.  (Priscilla Dunn, Malika Sanders-Fortier and Rodger Smitherman did not vote.)

Listed below are these 30 senators, along with the best email address I have for each.

If you do not want to give up your right to vote, write these senators and ask them why they voted for this amendment.

Greg  Albritton—R                               Gerald Allen–R

galbritton@att.net                                ghallen62@yahoo.com

Will Barfoot—R                                    Billy Beasley–D

cwb@barfootschoettker.com               billy.beasley@alsenate.gov

David Burkette—D                              Tom Butler–R

coachburkette@yahoo.com                senbutler@aol.com

Clyde Chambliss—R                           Donnie Chesteen–R

Clyde.chambliss@alsenate.gov          dchesteen@panhandle.rr.com

Linda Coleman-Madison—D               Vivian Figures–D

Linda.coleman@birminghamal.gov     vivianfigures@me.com

Chris Elliott—R                                    Garlan Gudger–R

chris@theelliottcompanies.com           garlangudger@me.com

Sam Givhan—R                                   Andrew Jones–R

sgivhan@wilmerlee.com                      jones.andrew@gmail.com

Steve Livingston—R                           Del Marsh–R

livings@charter.net                             dmarsh@pcchrome.com

Jim McClendon—R                             Tim Melson–R

jlmmcc@windstream.net                     tim.melson@alsenate.gov

Arthur Orr—R                                     Randy Price–R

arthur@arthurorr.com                        randyprice.sd13@gmail.com

Greg Reed—R                                    Dan Roberts–R

greg@preferredmedicalsystems.com       robtel@bellsouth.net

David Sessions—R                            Clay Scofield–R

d.r.sessions@att.net                          clay_scofield@earthlink.net

Bobby Singleton—D                          Shay Shelnutt–R

Bsingle362@gmail.com                    shay.sd17@gmail.com

Larry Stutts—R                                  Jabo Waggoner–R

larrycstutts@aol.com                         waggonerjt@gmail.com

Cam Ward—R                                    Jack Williams–R

cam@camward.com                          jackwilliams55@icloud.com